You are here

Morgan Prize Information

AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize
for Outstanding Research in Mathematics
by an Undergraduate Student


  • The prize is awarded to an undergraduate student (or students submitting joint work) for outstanding research in mathematics.
  • The prize consists of $1,200 and a certificate, and, for honorable mentions, a certificate.
  • Only one prize is awarded each year. A few honorable mentions may be made.
  • Nominations consist of an undergraduate research paper or papers and at least one letter of support from a person, usually a faculty member, familiar with the student's research.
    • - The research need not be confined to a single paper; it may be contained in several papers.
    • - The paper (or papers) must be submitted while the student is an undergraduate; not after the student's graduation.
    • - Publication of the research is not required.
  • Nominations must be submitted by June 30.
  • Nominations may be made by the student or by a nominator.
All nominations should go to Carla Savage. 
  • Any undergraduate student enrolled in a college or university in Canada, Mexico, or the United States or its possessions in December of the previous year is eligible.
  • The recipient of the prize is selected by a standing joint committee of the AMS, MAA, and SIAM. The joint committee consists of six members, each serving for a term of three years, two appointed by the President of the AMS, two by the President of the MAA, and two by the President of SIAM. The decisions of this committee are final.
  • Prizes will be awarded at the AMS-MAA Joint Mathematics Meetings in January.
The Morgan Prize is entirely endowed by a gift from Mrs. Frank (Brennie) Morgan.


Morgan Prize Winners