You are here

Finest Math and Science Teachers Selected for Presidential Award

July 16, 2010

President Obama has named 103 mathematics and science teachers as this year's recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The educators will be honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., later in the year.

Given annually to the best pre-college-level mathematics and science teachers from across the country, the award goes to those teaching 7th through 12th grades. Winners will receive an expenses-paid trip to the nation's capital for several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and science agency leaders. Each winner will also receive a $10,000 check from the National Science Foundation.

The winners were selected by a panel of scientists, mathematicians, and educators. Click here for a full list of this year’s winners.

Source: Official White House Press Release (June 7, 2010).

Start Date: 
Friday, July 16, 2010