You are here

President Honors Outstanding Mathematics, Science, and Engineering Mentors

February 1, 2011 

President Obama named 11 individuals and 4 organizations winners of the "Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring." 

“These individuals and organizations have gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that the United States remains on the cutting edge of science and engineering for years to come,” President Obama said. “Their devotion to the educational enrichment and personal growth of their students is remarkable, and these awards represent just a small token of our enormous gratitude.” 

Candidates for the Presidential Mentoring Awards are nominated by colleagues, administrators, and students in their home institutions. The mentoring can involve students at any grade level, from elementary school through graduate school. In addition to being honored at the White House, recipients receive $10,000 to advance their mentoring efforts. 

This year's winners are: 

· Richard L. Cardenas, St. Mary’s University, TX 

· Anthony Carpi, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, City University of New York, NY 

· Isaac J. Crumbly, Fort Valley State University, GA 

· Jo Handelsman, Yale University 

· Douglass L. Henderson, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

· Bruce A. Jackson, Massachusetts Bay Community College 

· Marigold L. Linton, University of Kansas 

· Maja J. Matari, University of Southern California 

· Gerard F. R. Parkin, Columbia University 

· Julio J. Ramirez, Davidson College 

· Michelle A. Williams, University of Washington 

· Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education, Stevens Institute of Technology 

· Baccalaureate and Beyond Community College Mentoring Program, State University of New York, Purchase College 

· Grinnell Science Project, Grinnell College 

· Women in Science and Engineering Mentoring Initiatives, Center for Research on Women and Gender, University of Illinois-Chicago 

Source: Official White House Press Release (January 21, 2011)

Start Date: 
Tuesday, February 1, 2011