You are here

Pólya Lectures

George Pólya, renowned teacher and writer, embodied the high quality of exposition that the MAA seeks to encourage. To further this goal, the George Pólya Lectureship was created in 1991. Each Section is entitled to a Pólya Lecture for a Section meeting approximately once every six years.

See the schedule of when each Section is eligible for a Polya Lecture.

Go here if you are a Pólya Lecturer and need information on how to request payment. 

List of Lecturers

2014-2015, 2015-2016

William Dunham, Muhlenberg College

2013-2014, 2014-2015

Ruth Charney, Brandeis University

2012-2013, 2013-2014

Ravi Vakil, Stanford University

2011-2012, 2012-2013

Jeffrey Lagarias, University of Michigan

2010-2011, 2011-2012

Erik Demaine, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2009-2010, 2010-2011

Judy Walker, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

2008-2009, 2009-2010

Louis H. Kauffman, University of Illinois at Chicago

2007-2008, 2008-2009

George Andrews, The Pennsylvania State University

2006-2007, 2007-2008

Art Benjamin, Harvey Mudd College

2005-2006, 2006-2007

Bernd Sturmfels, University of California, Berkeley

2004-2005, 2005-2006

Steven Rudich, Carnegie Mellon University

2003-2004, 2004-2005

I. Martin Isaacs, University of Wisconsin

2002-2003, 2003-2004

David Bressoud, Macalester College

2001-2002, 2002-2003

Edward Burger, Williams College

2000-2001, 2001-2002

Georgia Benkart, University of Wisconsin

1999-2000, 2000-2001

Joseph A. Gallian, University of Minnesota, Duluth

1998-1999, 1999-2000

Colin Adams, Williams College

1997-1998, 1998-1999

Ronald L. Graham, AT&T

1996-1997, 1997-1998

Laszlo Babai, University of Chicago and Eotvos University

1995-1996, 1996-1997

Underwood Dudley, DePauw University

1994-1995, 1995-1996

Robert Osserman, Stanford University

1993-1994, 1994-1995

Carl Pomerance, University of Georgia

1992-1993, 1993-1994

Patricia K. Rogers, York University

1991-1992, 1992-1993

John H. Ewing, Indiana University