You are here

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award

In 1991 the Mathematical Association of America instituted Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics in order to honor college or university teachers who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions. In 1993 the MAA Board of Governors renamed the award to honor Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo. Each year at most three college or university teachers are honored with this award. Recipients of the Haimo Award receive $1,000 and a certificate of recognition; recipients must be members of the Association (teaching in the U.S. or Canada). At least one of the Award recipients must be a current Section nominee. The Section nominee may be the current recipient of the Section Award for Distinguished Teaching or a previous recipient a Section Award for Distinguished Teaching from any Section. At most one of the Award recipients may be other than a current or past recipient of a Section Award for Distinguished Teaching. An individual may win the Haimo award at most once.

List of Recipients

Eligibility and Guidelines for the Haimo Award 

Regulations Governing the Haimo Award

Nomination form and directions for a complete nomination packet (This file is in PDF Format but can be filled in electronically)