You are here

Council and Committees List

Go back to Council List

Council on Communities

MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Jennifer R GalovichChair2/01/20171/31/2021
Dr. Edray Herber Goins PhDMember2/01/20171/31/2020Ex Officio, Chair of Committee of Graduate Students
Kira Hylton HammanMember2/01/20171/31/2020Ex Officio. Chair, Membership Committee
Lisa E MaranoMember2/01/20181/31/2022Ex Officio, Chair, Committee on Sections
Dr. Jason MolitiernoMember1/01/20171/31/2020
Emilie A PurvineMember1/01/20201/31/2023Ex Officio, Chair Membership Committee
Dr. Christina SelbyMember2/01/20181/31/2021Ex Officio; Chair, Committee on Business, Industry and Government
William D StoneMember2/01/20191/31/2022Ex Officio, Chair of SIGMAAs
Dr. Violeta VasilevskaMember9/12/20191/31/2021Chair, Committee on Undergraduate Students
Dr. Stefanie WangMember1/01/20201/31/2023Ex Officio, Chair of Committee of Graduate Students
Committee Charge
8/22/2017The charge to all councils is given in the MAA bylaws, Article VII.3.
In addition to those charges the Council on Communities will
(i) Advise the Association on issues related to the various member communities represented on the Council
(ii) Make recommendations to the Committee on Committees and Councils as to needs of communities not currently addressed by any committee
(iii) Seek ways to coordinate the interests and activities of the various member communities and encourage collaboration among them.

The Board of Directors will appoint the chair for a four year term.
Committee on Business, Industry, and Government Mathematics
MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
Dr. Christina SelbyChair2/01/20181/31/20212nd Term, 1st as Chair
Dr. Michael P CohenMember2/01/20181/31/20212nd Term
James H FifeMember1/01/20171/31/2020
Dr. Michele JoynerMember1/01/20191/31/2022
Dr. Caroline Maher-BoulisMember1/01/20181/31/2021
Joseph J Rushanan PhDMember1/01/20181/31/2021
Dr. Elizabeth D RussellMember2/01/20181/31/2021
Jan RychtarMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
Committee Charge
1/28/2011To encourage a greater role in MAA activities for mathematicians outside academia, by activities such as:

  • encouraging program elements and publications of interest to MAA members who work in government, industry, and business; and

  • cooperating with the Committee on the Undergraduate Program in Mathematics on appropriate or related undergraduate curriculum items.
  • Committee on Graduate Students
    MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
    Dr. Edray Herber Goins PhDChair1/01/20171/31/2020
    Tafari JamesMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Liz SattlerMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Dr. Robert W VallinMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Hua WangMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Dr. Stefanie WangMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Dr. Erika L WardMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Committee Charge
    1/03/2012To provide advice on policy matters related to graduate students and graduate education. Helps plan and organize activities and events of interest to graduate students at national meetings and other forums.
    Committee on Sections
    MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
    Lisa E MaranoChair2/01/20181/31/2021
    Prof. Julie A BarnesMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Dr. James W CarlsonMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Dr. Ximena CatepillanMember2/01/20181/31/20212nd Term
    Dr. Karen E ClarkMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Benjamin V.C. CollinsMember2/01/20181/31/20212nd term
    James E ConklinMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
    Dr. Mark A FitchMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
    Dr. Thomas D HendricksMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Daniel J HrozencikMember2/01/20171/31/20202nd Term
    Dr. Edward C KeppelmannMember2/01/20171/31/20202nd Term
    Dr Colleen G LivingstonMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Dr. Karen Batt StanishMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Ron D Taylor JrMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Committee Charge
    6/11/2013To support and coordinate activities of the Sections and advise the Board on all matters related to Sections.
    Committee on SIGMAAs
    MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
    Dr. Megan Breit-GoodwinMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Dr. Douglas G BurkholderMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
    Bonnie GoldMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Mr Jeffrey IbbotsonMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Herbert E KasubeMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Mr. Drew PasteurMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Prof. Raina RobevaMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Prof. Hortensia SotoMember8/16/20181/31/2023Ex Officio, Associate Secretary
    William D StoneMember1/01/20191/31/2020
    Dr Roger A WaggonerMember2/01/20181/31/20212nd Term
    Philip A YatesMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Committee Charge
    1/28/2011To monitor activities of SIGMAAs and see that the SIGMAAs are properly connected to the organizational structure of the MAA;

    to present issues concerning SIGMAAs to the Board of Directors;

    to address issues facing the SIGMAAs, such as elections, websites, membership, etc.;

    to recommend the acceptance of new SIGMAAs or dissolution of non-functioning SIGMAAs to the Board of Directors.
    Committee on Undergraduate Students
    MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
    Dr. Violeta VasilevskaChair9/01/20191/31/20211st term as chair; 2nd term on committee
    Dr. Emily Cilli-TurnerMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Dr. James B CollinsMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Dr. Janine JanoskiMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Prof. Darci L KrachtMember2/21/20186/30/2020Pi Mu Epsilon Representative
    Dr. Emille Davie LawrenceMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Dr. Aihua LiMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
    Sara L MalecMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Rhonda L McKee PhDMember2/01/20191/31/2022KME Representative
    Dr. Stacey MuirMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Andy NiedermaierMember2/01/20181/31/20212nd Term
    Dr. Pamela Anne RichardsonMember9/02/20191/31/2020
    Eric R RuggieriMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Peri ShereenMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Mr. Chasen Grady SmithMember2/01/20191/31/20222nd Term
    Prof. Hortensia SotoMember8/01/20181/31/2023Ex Officio, Associate Secretary
    Committee Charge
    10/25/2018To promote and support educational and social opportunities and activities at national MAA meetings for undergraduate students interested in the mathematical sciences.
    Membership Committee
    MemberPositionTerm BeginsTerm Ends Comments
    Kira Hylton HammanChair2/01/20171/31/20202nd Term, first as chair
    Dr. Shawn ChiappettaMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Prof. James W DanielMember2/01/20171/31/2021Ex officio, Treasurer
    Prof. Joyati DebnathMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Prof. Semra Kilic-Bahi PhDMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Laramie PaxtonMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Dr. Alicia Prieto LangaricaMember1/01/20171/31/2020
    Emilie A PurvineMember1/01/20181/31/2020
    Jonathan RognessMember1/01/20191/31/2022
    Ms. Jane D TannerMember1/01/20181/31/2021
    Elizabeth WilcoxMember2/01/20171/31/20202nd Term
    Prof. Helen WongMember1/01/20171/31/20202nd Term
    Prof. Dina YagodichMember1/01/20201/31/2023
    Committee Charge
    1/08/2015 To identify the needs of current and prospective MAA members;

    To make recommendations for ways in which MAA membership benefits might meet these needs;

    To review proposals for maintaining and expanding membership in the MAA;

    To work closely with the MAA staff to ensure the feasibility and implementations of the committee's recommendations.

    Adopted by the BOG on 1/8/2015

    Dummy View - NOT TO BE DELETED