You are here

Math Jeopardy

Math Jeopardy

by Robert W. Vallin
MAA and Slippery Rock University

Once again, the highlight of MathFest Eve was Math Jeopardy. Hosted by Michael Berry of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville the participating schools and students were Hope College (Blair Williams, Dan Lithio, Forrest Gordon, and Zach Mitchell), Lafayette College (Eric Gilson, Corey Staten, Jamie Long, and Chelsey Cooley), Mount Union College (Kevin Kreighbaum, Andrew Johnson, and Rory Tiedemann), and Texas A&M (Ryan Johson, Annchen Knodt, Tony Neumann, and Julio Araiza, Jr.). The audience was delighted with the Jeopardy categories My Humble Ab-ODE, Freshman Orientation, Senior Disorientation, The Written Word, and Hairy Plotter, and Final Jeopardy Category I Prefer Pi (about palindromic numbers). The winners were the players from Hope College. Each team received a cache of MAA goodies (flying disc, yo-yo, playing cards, and stress-relieving icosohedron) to split among themselves.

Special thanks to John Hamman of Montgomery College (timekeeper), Linda Braddy of East Central University (scorekeeper), and Steve Kennedy & Deanna Haunsberger from Carleton College (judges).