You are here

Radha Gupta Will Receive Kenneth O. May Prize at ICM 2010

July 12, 2010 

Indian mathematician Radha Charan Gupta will receive the Kenneth O. May Prize for the History of Mathematics at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM), which will be held in Hyderabad, India, from August 19-27, 2010.
Gupta, who specializes in the history of development of trigonometry in India, will be the first Indian to receive the award.

The prize is named in honor of mathematician-historian Kenneth O. May, founder of the International Commission for the History of Mathematics.

This the first time the Congress is being held in India. Indian President Pratibha Patil will inaugurate the event.

Around 3,000 delegates from across the globe are expected at the meeting, which represents the biggest and the most prestigious international gathering of mathematicians. MAA’s Director of Publications and Communications, Ivars Peterson, (aka The Mathematical Tourist) will also be in attendance and speaking on a panel about communicating mathematics to society-at-large.

Source: Economic Times (July 9, 2010)


Start Date: 
Monday, July 12, 2010