You are here

HOM SIGMAA 2017 Student Paper Contest Winners

Convergence is pleased to present the three winning papers from the 2017 Student Paper Contest sponsored by the History of Mathematics Special Interest Group of the Mathematical Association of America (HOM SIGMAA). The winners are:

Each winning student received one-year memberships in MAA (including HOM SIGMAA) and in the Canadian Society for History and Philosophy of Mathematics (CSHPM), along with a book on history of mathematics. In announcing the winners, HOM SIGMAA Prize Coordinator Dorothee Blum wrote, "Congratulations to these students for such high quality work and to their advisors for the inspiration and encouragement they provided to their students."

The winning papers were selected by a team of nine judges, headed by Blum. HOM SIGMAA has sponsored the Student Paper Contest since 2004. The contest was facilitated from 2004 to 2010 by its founder, then HOM SIGMAA Program Coordinator and now HOM SIGMAA Chair Amy Shell-Gellasch. HOM SIGMAA Prize Coordinators Herb Kasube and Dominic Klyve ran the contest during 2011-2013 and 2014-2016, respectively.

"HOM SIGMAA 2017 Student Paper Contest Winners," Convergence (May 2017)