You are here

Henry L. Alder Award

In January 2003 the MAA established the Henry L. Alder Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Beginning College or University Mathematics Faculty Member to honor beginning college or university faculty whose teaching has been extra ordinarily successful and whose effectiveness in teaching undergraduate mathematics is shown to have influence beyond their own classrooms. An awardee must have taught full time in a mathematical science in the United States or Canada for at least two, but not more than seven, years since receiving the Ph.D. Each year at most three college or university teachers are to be honored with this national award and are to receive $1,000 and a certificate of recognition from the MAA. Award recipients will be expected to make a presentation at one of the national meetings of the MAA. Nominations for the award may be made by any member of the MAA or by any section of the MAA.

Additional information and nomination forms for the Alder Awards.

List of Recipients


Dominic Klyve (Central Washington University)

Lara Pudwell (Valparaiso University)


Kumer Das (Lamar University)

Christopher Storm (Adelphi University)

Rachel Levy (Harvey Mudd College)


Kathryn Leonard (California State University Channel Islands)

Susan Martonosi (Harvey Mudd College)

Michael Posner (Villanova University)


Alissa S. Crans of Loyola Marymount University

Sarah Eichhorn of the University of California, Irvine (UCI)

Sam Vandervelde of St. Lawrence University


Nathan Carter of Bentley University

Kathleen Fowler of Clarkson University


Scott Annin of California State University at Fullerton

Sommer Gentry of The United States Naval Academy

Jennifer McLoud-Mann of University of Texas at Tyler


David Brown of Ithaca College

Jacqueline A. Jensen of Sam Houston State University

Katherine Socha of St. Mary's College of Maryland


Timothy Chartier of Davidson College

Satyan Devadoss of Williams College

Darren Narayan of Rochester Institute of Technology


Lesley Ward, Harvey Mudd College

Garikai (Kai) Campbell, Swarthmore College

Christopher N. Swanson, Ashland University


Matthew DeLong, Taylor University

Sarah Greenwald, Appalachian State University

Laura Taalman, James Madison University


Francis Edward Su, Harvey Mudd College

Zvezdelina Stankova, Mills College