You are here

Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award

In 1991 the Mathematical Association of America instituted Awards for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics in order to honor college or university teachers who have been widely recognized as extraordinarily successful and whose teaching effectiveness has been shown to have had influence beyond their own institutions. In 1993 the MAA Board of Governors renamed the award to honor Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo. Each year at most three college or university teachers are honored with this award. Recipients of the Haimo Award receive $1,000 and a certificate of recognition; recipients must be members of the Association (teaching in the U.S. or Canada). At least one of the Award recipients must be a current Section nominee. The Section nominee may be the current recipient of the Section Award for Distinguished Teaching or a previous recipient of a Section Award for Distinguished Teaching from any Section. At most one of the Award recipients may be other than a current or past recipient of a Section Award for Distinguished Teaching. An individual may win the Haimo award at most once.  Nominations for the Haimo award are due to the secretary of the MAA ([email protected]) by August 1 of each year.

Regulations Governing the Haimo Award

Guidelines and nomination form that can be filled in electronically 

List of Recipients


Robin Wilson, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Pamela Harris, Williams College
Darren A. Narayan, Rochester Institute of Technology


Dave Kung, St. Mary's College in Maryland
David Austin, Grand Valley State University
Elaine Kasimatis, California State University, Sacramento


Federico Ardila, San Francisco State University and the Universidad de Los Andes
Mark Tomforde, University of Houston
Suzanne L. Weekes, Worcester Polytechnic Institute


Suzanne Dorée, Augsburg University
Carl Lee, Central Michigan University
Jennifer Switkes, California State Polytechnic University


Gary Gordon, Lafayette College
Hortensia Soto, University of Northern Colorado
Ronald Taylor, Jr., Berry College


Janet Heine Barnett, Colorado State University-Pueblo
Caren Diefenderfer, Hollins University
Tevian Dray, Oregon State University


Satyan Devadoss, Williams College
Tyler Jarvis, Brigham Young University
Glen Van Brummelen, Quest University


Judith Covington, LSU-Shreveport
Brian Hopkins, St. Peter's University
Shahriar Shahriari, Pomona College


Carl Lee, University of Kentucky
Gavin LaRose, University of Michigan
Andrew Bennett, Kansas State University


Matthias Beck, San Francisco State University
Margaret Robinson, Mount Holyoke College
Francis Su, Harvey Mudd College


Matthew DeLong, Taylor University
Susan Loepp, Williams College
Cynthia Wyels, California State University Channel Islands


Erica Flapan, Pomona College
Karen Rhea, University of Michigan
Zvezdelina Stankova, Mills College


Curtis Bennett, Loyola Marymount University
Michael Dorff, Brigham Young University
Allan J. Rossman, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo


Michael Bardzell, Salisbury University
David Pengelley, New Mexico State University
Vali Siadat, City Colleges of Chicago


Annalisa Crannell, Franklin and Marshall
Kenneth I. Gross, University of Vermont
James Morrow, University of Washington


Jennifer Quinn, Occidental College
Michael Starbird, University of Texas
Gilbert Strang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)


Jacqueline Dewar, Loyola Marymount University
Keith Stroyan, University of Iowa
Judy Leavitt Walker, University of Nebraska


Gerald L. Alexanderson, Santa Clara University
Aparna Higgins, University of Dayton
Deborah Hughes-Hallett, University of Arizona


Thomas Garrity, Williams College
Andrew Chiang-Fung Liu, University of Alberta
Olympia Nicodemi, SUNY at Geneseo


Judith V. Grabiner, Pitzer College
Ranjan Roy, Beloit College
Paul Andrew Zeitz, University of San Francisco


Dennis DeTurck, University of Pennsylvania
Paul J. Sally, Jr., University of Chicago
Edward Spitznagel, Jr., Washington University


Edward B. Burger, Williams College
Evelyn Silvia, University of California at Davis
Leonard F. Klosinki, Santa Clara University


Arthur T. Benjamin, Harvey Mudd College
Donald S. Passman, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Gary W. Towsley, State University of New York at Geneseo


Joel V. Brawley, Clemson University
Robert W. Case, Northeastern University
Joan P. Hutchinson, Macalester College


Colin Adams, Williams College
Rhonda Hatcher, Texas Christian University
Rhonda Hughes, Bryn Mawr College


Carl C. Cowen, Purdue University
Carl Pomerance, University of Georgia
T. Christine Stevens, Saint Louis University


Thomas F. Banchoff, Brown University
Edward M. Landesman, Univ. of California-Santa Cruz
Herbert S. Wilf, Univ. of Pennsylvania


Robert L. Devaney, Boston University
Lisa Mantini, Oklahoma State University
David S. Moore, Purdue University


Paul R. Halmos, Santa Clara University
Justin J. Price, Purdue University
Alan C. Tucker, State University of New York at Stony Brook


Joseph A. Gallian, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Robert V. Hogg, University of Iowa
Anne Hudson, Armstrong State College
Frank Morgan, Williams College
V. Frederick Rickey, Bowling Green State University
Doris W. Schattschneider, Moravian College
Philip D. Straffin, Jr., Beloit College